Paleo Challenge Day 4

Woke up this morning a lil hungrier than yesterday and with my thighs still killing me from Monday’s workout. Thankfully I had plenty of time to make a good protein rich breakfast of 2 eggs over medium w/ just a touch of salt and pepper for taste.
The rest of the day went pretty well also. My morning snack was 4 celery stalks with some homemade almond butter (with a few dates mixed in to give it some added sweetness). I didn’t realize how much 4 stalks of celery were until it took me 1.5 hours to finish that snack while working. Lunch was more leftovers, including one of the thin grilled pork chops and the last of the fajita chicken. Again, I paired this with some soda water w/ lime.
My afternoon snack / pre-workout meal was a cucumber with more lime and a larabar (pecan pie) on the drive to the gym. Thankfully today’s workout wasn’t killer although it did focus a lot of legs again…not a good time.
Today’s WoD:
AMRAP 8 Min

  • 200 meter run
  • 20 pistol squats – 10 per leg
  • 10 push jerks at 145 lbs
  • 3 Min Max Lateral Jumping Burpies with no rest from AMRAP

    It was rough. I got though 2 rounds + the 200 meter run, but had to modify. I only push jerked 85 lbs and my pistol squats were pistol sits onto a box that was 20″ high. Also i finished 24 jumping burpies in the 2.5 min left after I returned from my run. Here’s hoping to see some improvement in my strength and balance as I keep up with this routine!
    Dinner is going to be great! I put a few chicken breasts in the crockpot this morning with homemade salsa, bell peppers, cumin and salt and let that cook down all day. I’ll use some butter lettuce as “taco shell” and top them with homemade guacamole…Can’t Wait.
    Also – planning on making something that uses mayo tomorrow and I tried to make my own tonight just to try it out…it doesn’t taste like mayo, maybe too much pepper? I didn’t have white pepper like the recipe called for so I subbed regular pepper…not sure how wise that was. So – I guess we’ll see tomorrow if I decide to use that or slightly break strict paleo by using normal mayo (which uses the wrong kind of oil to be pale). We will see….

    Leave a Reply

    